Six Zero Should Have Made This Paddle...

What’s up, guys? Hope you’re doing well. This week I’ve got some paddle updates that you’ve been asking for, my latest review (yay! I’m finally back), and a question for all of you.

A question for the audience

Want to start off this newsletter with a question fro everyone. What is your ideal handle length and why? Let me know in the poll below!

What is your ideal handle size?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

11six24 Hurache-X Review

Well, just in time for my review the Hurache-X is already out of stock. 😅

I’ve talked about this paddle several times already, but now you can check out the full review for all my thoughts. At the price point 11six24 is selling this paddle, it is a top paddle on the market.

I also tried something different and cut it open to show you guys how it was holding up. This is something I plan to do more in the future to make sure companies aren’t lying about their marketing claims.

If you want the short version of my review, the Hurache-X is a slightly more powerful Double Black Diamond in an elongated shape with a 6” handle. If you liked the DBD but wanted more power, this is a great alternative.

It’s been my paddle of choice for my weekly leagues that I’ve been playing in. I’m sure I’ll keep bouncing between this and the DBD, but so far the Hurache-X is doing great.

You can purchase it here

Paddle updates

Reload

Reload, the company that will be producing replaceable face sheets for Pickleball paddles has stated they are aiming for a March/April launch. A lot of people have asked when this is coming, and this is the latest update that I have heard.

They received USAP approval last month, and people have been wondering where the updates are. That’s the latest I have for now. Once I have more to share, I’ll let you know.

Gamma Airbender

The Gamma Airbender just dropped for $200 and I think it will be a great alternative to the Selkirk Luxx Control Air. They certainly have their own pros and cons that may make you lean one way or another, but I think they hit a similar target audience overall. The fact that the Airbender is using a raw carbon fiber face over paint grit is a huge plus. Keep an eye on this one. Also, I have a code for Gamma now which should save 10%. PBSTUDIO at checkout.

Upcoming Selkirk release

Selkirk has started to tease their latest release. From some images of pros online, it looks to be a raw carbon fiber version of the Vanguard. Doesn’t sound horribly exciting to me unless there’s some other updates along with it, but I’m sure it will sell exceptionally well since I feel like I still see regular Vanguards and Halos all over the place.

Rokne Aeroblade

I still haven’t gotten to take the Rokne Aeroblade to hit on the court, but I’m VERY skeptical so far.

If you aren’t familiar with it, the Rokne Aeroblade is selling for $300(!!!) and the big feature claim are the removable weights in the throat.

Here is where my skepticism comes from.

  • Each rubber weight is 0.5oz. That means having all three in the paddle adds 1.5oz to your paddle which is very substantial and beyond what most people would consider adding to their paddle.

  • Similar to the Adidas Metalbone, the stats don’t change that much. It changes more than the Metalbone, but not by much. (At least for twist weight)

    • Stock swing weight: 133 (this is already really heavy)

    • Swing weight with all three weights: 140 (VERY, VERY heavy)

    • Stock twist weight: 5.71

    • Twist weight with all three weights: 6.09 (this is a larger increase than metalbone, but still a reasonably low twist weight).

  • Not to mention the $300 price tag for a brand that hasn’t been known to produce high end competitive equipment. Not even Joola or Gearbox have hit those prices yet.

  • It isn’t raw carbon fiber. It appears to be a 3k carbon fiber with paint grit applied to it.

For $300, I think it offers far too little. Even if it did have top tier performance, those swing weights are wild. For your own reference, once you pass about 123, that starts to feel pretty heavy for most people. The Original Hyperion had a swing weight of 127 and people thought that was a tank. Now imagine going 13 points higher for the Rokne Aeroblade.

Who knows, maybe when I hit it I’ll be completely wrong. Wouldn’t be the first time.

🎙️ Latest podcast

If you missed it, this weeks podcast we talked about the arguments for why you should wear protective eyewear, which ones to buy, a plethora of paddle updates, discussing the various balls and the issues they have, and the Kitchen has some really nerd stuff about my spin tests and some of the analysis I’ve done with various cameras. If you make it through the Kitchen, you’re probably a super fan.