The Selkirk Pro S1 Wobble

What’s up, guys? This week my Six Zero Infinity review dropped, I have some updates on the Pro S1 ball, and the San Clemente PPA that I’m competing in. Read on for more information.

Six Zero Infinity vs Double Black Diamond

Watch the video review here

My review/comparison of the Infinity is finally here! Sorry it took so much longer than normal. These tournaments this year really threw off my work schedule.

If you want the short version of the video, these paddles have small differences that make them intended for specific types of players.

The infinity is for players who want a bit more control, more hand speed, and don’t mind a worse sweet spot.

The Double Black Diamond has more power, better sweet spot, but it’s a tiny bit slower in the hand.

Those are the biggest differences. In the video I dive into some other topics that you’ll want to know before you buy the paddle as well.

Hope you guys enjoy!

If you plan to pick one up, you can use code PBSTUDIO to bring the price from $220 to $200. You can buy it here

Selkirk Pro S1 Wobble?

You’ve probably seen a lot of content about the new Selkirk Pro S1 ball recently. We’ve talked about it on the podcast several times in the last few months because we really enjoy the ball.

However, now that the ball is launched I’ve seen a LOT of complaints about the ball going out of round. Both in my Discord, Facebook, and other social channels.

I’ve yet to experience a Pro S1 wobbling on me, and when I sat down to think why, I think it’s because we’ve officially hit the 20-40 degree temps in Minnesota. It’s probably so cold that the ball is having a hard time going out of round.

I haven’t gotten to ask around yet, but I wonder if the warmer climates warp the ball. It’s still unclear to me if once it wobbles it has bad bounces like the Dura though.

Hopefully this isn’t something that will plague the this ball. Because I think it’s ability to not crack is incredible and will save people a lot of money on balls compared to a Dura. Maybe it will become a ball that is primarily used in very cold temps.

Sigh…I wish we could just have a ball that didn’t have some issue that makes it annoying to use in certain contexts.

In fact, we tested this the other day in sub 40 temps. Me and my brother warmed up for about 3 minutes while testing some paddles and the Dura was completely destroyed.

We spent the next 10+ minutes smacking drives and overheads trying to break the Pro S1 and it wouldn’t budge. I’ve never seen a ball be this resilient to cracking.

I’ll make sure to update you as I hear more.

San Clemente PPA

As you are reading this, I’m in California for the San Clemente PPA. This is my final tournament for the year.

This is the first time that I am doing a partial double blind date for a tournament.

I’ve never loved the idea of doing a blind date because I’m always paranoid that I won’t play well enough for my partner and it adds a lot of pressure to myself. I play much worse when I don’t feel fully comfortable or that I might be making it more difficult for my partner. (I’m sure we can all relate)

I’m playing with Ed Ju from Davis Pickleball in mens 4.5 doubles. So, it’s not technically a “pure blind date” since I know Ed from Instagram and we’ve chatted a few times before. Just never played Pickleball together.

Ed always seems like a very upbeat easy going guy, so I do really look forward to playing with him. Seems like my ideal type of partner in terms of the vibe they give off.

For mixed doubles I’m playing 4.5 with someone named Tiff who I met last month during my trip to SoCal. While we haven’t played together, she also seems very easy going and all her friends tell me that she plays exactly like my mixed partner from Minnesota. If that’s the case, things should be plenty comfortable!

I played 4.5 singles yesterday as well. I ended up getting 5th out of 23 people. I’m quite happy with my result. I was undefeated until the semi finals where I lost 8-15. In my match to get to bronze, I was up 6-1 at the switch and lost 10-12. I even had several match points on my paddle being up 10-8.

My opponent played very well though, he earned that win and went on to get bronze. Overall, singles was a lot of fun.

🎙️ Latest podcast

If you missed it, we had a long discussion about the benefits of lead tape, how much to use, where you should place it and much more. If you’ve never used lead tape before, I highly recommend you give it a try. It’s a great tool that is far less intimidating than people think and can have huge impacts on your paddles performance.

You can also check out this YouTube video I made about lead tape.