Selkirk Amped Pro Air First Look

So, I’ve already got several of my next review videos planned out in June, but I’d love to hear from you guys about which one of these you’d be most excited to see a review for.

What paddle do you want to see reviewed?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Selkirk Amped Pro Air First Look

This week the new Selkirk Amped Pro Air dropped.

Except….it’s at least a year or 2 years too late. People have been asking for a slightly thicker Power Air since the Power Air launched.

If you want the long story short, it’s basically a better feeling Power Air with less pop and power. In fact, I actually like it a lot more than the Power Air.

I think if you liked the Power Air but thought it was too poppy, you might enjoy the Amped Pro Air. I expected to hate it, but really didn’t. While I think there are better value, better performing paddles in the market, I don’t think the Amped Pro Air is awful. It was also a nice touch for Selkirk to make the price $180 instead of the $250 that their premium paddles usually go for.

I really wish Selkirk would move on from this spray on grit though. I know they love their branding to be very visible, but it is such a shame to have expense paddles still using spray on grit. It just doesn’t last long enough for high level players.

The colors do look great though, I have to give Selkirk that.

Except for the green. Seriously, who thought that was a good idea when we play with a green ball?

Anyways, if you plan to pick one up, you can use code ADV-PBSTUDIO to receive a digital gift card with your order. I’d recommend demoing one before buying blindly though.

Quick Thoughts on the Thrive AZUL

I know I know….I’m probably the last reviewer on earth to talk about the Thrive AZUL and I literally went on a trip to Vegas to mess with them. 🤦‍♂️

Unfortunately the Gen 3 Joola’s were coming out at a very similar time and those took the priority. Which is a bit of a shame, because the Thrive AZUL is a dang good paddle.

I’ve never been very high on Kevlar paddles. Their best attribute has been that they offer a slightly more plush feel than carbon fiber which is a pro or a con depending on who you are. I’ve never felt that it has deserved the hype that it got.

However, the AZUL is the first kevlar paddle that hits harder than most gen 2 raw carbon fiber paddles. I don’t know if they are adding a layer of fiberglass into the mix or what it is, but the pop and power is exceptionally good.

I would place it a good step above the 11six24 Hurache-X Control+ that I have been enjoying for the last few months.

I’ve hit nearly every single kevlar paddle to hit the market (minus a few exceptions like the J7K) and currently the AZUL is the most standout amongst them, in my opinion.

In a sea of kevlar paddles that share a lot of similar traits, it is refreshing to see the AZUL stand out more.

It has a stiffer feedback which is different than most kevlar blended paddles on the market right now.

Now of course, more pop and power doesn’t automatically mean better. However, if you wanted a kevlar paddle that does have those traits, this is the one.

Plus, I really like with Thrive that you can select your swing weight when purchasing. Makes it easy to order the same exact paddle you had last time instead of getting one that is too light and one that is too heavy.

You can pick it up here and if you use code PBSTUDIO will shave off $20

🎙️ Latest podcast

If you missed it, this week we talked about the UPA vs USAP debacle and the fight for who will become the governing body of paddles. It’s going to be a fun ride seeing how this one shakes out…