This Paddle Only Costs $117?

The poll results from last week were interesting! I thought elongated would win by a landslide, followed by hybrid, and then waaaay down there would be standard. The results were:

  • Standard: 24%

  • Hybrid 49%

  • Elongated 27%

I’ve loved hybrid for the last year, but didn’t realize so many of you were also using the hybrid shape. Especially because there really aren’t that many companies that make a hybrid shaped paddle (relative to the amount making elongated and standard).

But, I guess it also depends on how many of you voted for hybrid when you’re using a paddle that just has the “curved top”. The current definition for hybrid is a paddle that measures 16.25” in length. Doesn’t matter if it has a curve top or not.

For example, a Joola Hyperion is not a hybrid. Just an elongated paddle with a curved top.

How many paddles do you carry to the courts?

When you go to play Pickleball, how many paddles are in your bag?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Spartus Apollo Review | Great Performance, Even Better Price

Just finished my Spartus Apollo review today. This paddle was quite a bit of fun to play test.

It’s always very attractive to see a company selling the paddles at extremely good prices. Last year the Vatic Prism Flash was one of the best priced paddles on the market, and I think the Apollo is entering a similar territory for the widebody paddle market.

It’s a full kevlar widebody for $117 after discount code.

The main things you need to know are this:

  • It’s a stiff paddle

  • Has slightly above average pop for a widebody paddle

  • Has a swing weight of 107~ and twist weight of 7.4~

  • Has vibrations that can be annoying in the stock form

    • (This can be fixed by removing the top band+adding lead tape)

  • In my opinion, the optimal setup is when you add lead/tungsten tape. If you don’t like adding lead, this might not be the paddle for you.

The off center vibrations were really annoying to me, but after a hesacore+lead on the sides and the head, I found that I really didn’t have anymore complaints.

If you’re sensitive to vibrations, this probably won’t be the paddle you want to use.

After my setup, the paddle had a swing weight of 116 and twist weight of 8.64.

If you’re in the market for a widebody paddle that has top performance but isn’t going to break your bank, this is one to keep your eye on.

Are Power Paddles Worse for Amateurs?

This week I released a video about whether or not amateurs play worse with power paddles.

I think in the last 8 months since the release of the Gearbox Pro Power, everyone has been chasing power, and I get it.

The Gearbox was the first paddle to make people go “Holy crap, I didn’t know we could hit a ball this hard”. The feeling of crushing a drive, counter, shake & bake, overhead is addicting.

However, now that I’ve seen several cycles of power paddles release and my friends go out and by them, almost every single time they have a blast initially and then go back to an all court or control style paddle because they realized they weren’t actually playing any better.

Now of course, certain play styles will be WAY better with a power paddle. We all know those bangers who are extremely good at what they do, and they can be hard to play against.

But most people aren’t that guy.

I’m currently playing with a much softer paddle than I have in a long time (Volair Forza Mach 2 16mm) and my game feels awesome with it. Is this what I stick with long term? Ehhh, who knows. Reviewing paddles for a living makes it hard to stick with anything long term.

What it did show me is that when I need to actually compete, it’s much easier with this than it is a Gearbox/Joola/other power paddles. Doesn’t mean they are bad, my game just doesn’t mesh with them in those situations.

Also to be clear, I find power paddles WAAAAAAY more fun to play with. I just don’t think that I play my best Pickleball with one.

Anyways, consider thinking about what your best attributes are on the court and if a power paddle is actually helping you play better or not.

🎙️ Latest podcast

If you missed it, this week will was pretending to be the host of the Pickleball Studio podcast in SoCal, so I had my brother Aizec on the pod. This one was a lot of fun, because we got to shoot in person which I think lends to a much better conversation and production value.

We compared 4-6 standards paddles this week. The Spartus Apollo, Volair Forza Mach 2 16mm, PIKKL Hurricane Pro 16mm, Ronbus Pulsar FX2, and some brief thoughts on the Bread & Butter FatBoy.

It ended up turning into quite a bit of a gear podcast, because we also covered our thoughts on Hesacore grips as well as the new KTCHN bag.