Joola Mod TA-15, New Gen 1.5 Paddles, & More

Joola Mod TA-15 Review | I’m…Confused

After all the fuss over the gen 3 delisting we finally got the new approved Joola Mod TA-15.

Or what it should really be called is, a gen 3 with white paint.

You can watch the video for all the details, but after playing with it and cutting it open, I am unable to find any difference between these paddles. They play identically, they have the same amount of foam, and the specs are identical (within manufacturing variance).

So, I guess if you enjoyed the gen 3 Perseus, the Mod TA-15 is now going to be your paddle of choice. This one is currently USAP approved and plays just the same.

Very odd…but I guess we’ll go with it.

That Pickleball School Quiz

My buddy Kyle Koszuta is launching an online Pickleball school in the next 50 days. He recently just made a fun Pickleball quiz to test your knowledge and I thought it would be fun to share with you guys.

I managed to get 9/10 on the quiz, can you beat me? 👀

Link to the test here

Upcoming paddles

SLK Halo Pro

This is launching August 20th. The details of exactly what these are aren’t super clear to me yet, but I have a few guesses based on the image above.

For Selkirk’s sake, I hope these paddles are good. They really have not done much since the 002/Power Air. The Luxx was a decent release, but nothing mind blowing.

Since these are in the SLK lineup, my expectations are pretty low, but I’m hoping to be surprised when we get to test them out.

Spartus Olympus

This paddle has been generating quite a bit of noise in my Discord for the people who have gotten to try it early. My impressions of it so far are positive, and it sounds like it will be releasing in the first week of September.

Our goal will be to have a video ready on launch day for you guys to check it out.

This is a 14mm hybrid paddle with a slightly different core design, low swing weight of 113, and pretty aggressive pop.

GRUVN CRUZ Line gen 1.5 (shipping now)

This is a line that I’m actually a bit excited about. We’ll now have gen 1.5 paddles from GRUVN, Vatic Pro, and 11six24. All in varying shapes.

I’ve always wondered why more companies haven’t tried doing gen 1.5 paddles considering how much of a hit the Vatic Pro Prism line was and now we are finally starting to see more of them.

The only downside is that the CRUZ line will start at $129 compared to $99 for Vatic Pro and 11six24. With a discount code that’ll come down to about $117.

Regardless, having the extra shape options will be a nice addition to the market and probably something that some players would be willing to pay a little extra money for.

Ronbus Ripple 14mm

I don’t know that there is actually a release date for this paddle. I think they are still in alpha testing, but I did see one in the wild at the PPA and heard that it recently got USAP approval (not currently on the public list).

From my brief impressions of this paddle, it is going to turn a lot of heads in a similar way that the Gearbox Pro Power and gen 3 Joola’s did.

I was extremely impressed with the paddle and I’m looking forward to it releasing. It was definitely a power focused paddle.

🎙️ Latest podcast

If you missed it, on this weeks podcast we recap our Kansas PPA amateur experience, the new juniors that are taking over the sport, the new unreleased Joola Gen 3S, and a few other fun topics. Give it a listen.