Joola Discount Code & Ronbus Pulsar First Look

What’s up, guys? Short newsletter this week because I am out traveling for a secret Pickleball event. Hopefully I’ll be able to tell you more about it soon. 👀

The R3 Pulsar is finally here and the R1 will arrive May 15th for pre-order on Ronbus.com.

I did a first look on both of them and tried out a new format. If you check it out, respond to this email and let me know what you thought! I personally thought it was a much more entertaining format and gives you insight to what my thought process is while I’m on court checking out a paddle for the first time. I think I’ll be doing more videos like this, but I’d love to hear if you enjoyed it as well.

R3 Pulsar specs

If you don’t have time to watch the video, the Pulsars are really nice paddles. Are they drastically better or different than the other thermos? No, I wouldn’t say so.

However, the one defining feature that is a big deal is that allegedly they shouldn’t have the core crush/delam issue. Dong (the owner of Ronbus) has been very active in my Discord since those issues arrived and he believes he has found the solution.

To see if he was right or not, I gave my delaminator friend who has broken roughly 5 thermoformed paddles in an average time of a week. It has now been nearly 1.5 months and he has yet to break this paddle. Very impressive!

Of course, one data point isn’t enough to say that the entire issue is solved, but it does lead me to believe Dong isn’t making things up.

Now, the trade off is that the Pulsars are a touch softer than the other thermos. It isn’t drastically softer, but it’s definitely not the same level of power. I would say it is somewhere between gen 1 and gen 2 raw carbon fiber paddles.

Overall, very nice paddles. I enjoyed the R1 Pulsar a lot and could easily see myself going to a tournament with it. The R3 isn’t quite for me, but that’s just because I like lighter swing weights these days.

What did you think of the new first look format?

If you check out the Pulsar first look video, let me know what you think of the new format!

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Joola discount code!

Just in time for the Joola Perseus launch next month (June 6th), Joola has given me a discount code for you guys! If you use code PBSTUDIO at checkout on their website, you can save 10%.

🎙️ Latest podcast

If you missed it, Will and I get caught up on some new paddles as well as Jack Socks recent performance at his first PPA tournament on the podcast.