The Gen 3 Joola's Remain Delisted

What type of paddle do you play best with?

I'm talking about the paddle you would choose to play your very highest level of Pickleball. Not what you find the most fun

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

I have a video coming out next week where I talk about my experience competing in Texas with the Volair Forza Mach 2 16mm. This is the first time I’ve used a standard shaped paddle in a tournament, and a long time since I’ve used a control oriented paddle to compete as well.

I felt my level of play was higher than normal and I attribute some of that to a control paddle not causing reckless pop ups because I’m nervous.

With power being all the craze right now, it seems to be the only thing people focus on. If it doesn’t hit harder than X, they don’t want it, and I get it.

These new power paddles are insane and can be a huge advantage in the right hands.

However, I’m starting to wonder how many people ACTUALLY play their best level of Pickleball with one of them. I can play good Pickleball with a Gearbox or Gen 3 Joola, but I don’t think it is my highest performance I can give.

If you haven’t played a control paddle in a bit, you should give it a try this week and let me know if you felt you played better.

I find that people are chasing the high/addiction of how fun a counter/drive/overhead can be with these power paddles that they forget how many dinks, resets, and drops are a part of the game.

The Gen 3 Joola’s Remain Delisted

This week USAP announced that the resubmitted gen 3 Joola’s have failed certification and will remain delisted for now.

At this time, it seems that they will remain delisted for the foreseeable future and it’s unclear if/when they will ever be coming back.

Joola also put out a statement sharing their disappointment and saying that they will offer anyone a full refund who purchased between April 16th and June 15th.

All I can say is, what a mess. The recently approved (but not yet for sale) Ronbus Ripple also got delisted and now it has everyone wondering if other paddles are next.

What about the Vatic Oni, Gearbox Pro Power, or other powerful paddles?

At this time, no one knows what the future holds. It’s a complicated situation and USAP continues to not give clear information to the public on why things are happening the way they are or what is actually failing.

If anything new comes, I’ll be sure to keep you updated.

My back injury

If you haven’t already caught the podcast this week, I’ve been dealing with a back injury for two weeks now. Unfortunately it has prevented me from being able to play Pickleball, so I’m pretty behind on my reviews.

The bright side is, things seem to be looking better for my back. I’m starting to feel much better and I’m also going to start physical therapy on Monday.

The other thing I’m thankful for is that I don’t think it’s a serious injury. More than likely it is due to a few very weak muscles from me sitting at a desk 8-10 hours a day (Yeah, don’t do that….)

So, with some strengthening and not pushing it so hard on the court each week, I think I’ll be back to normal pretty soon.

Long story short, take care of your body. The last two weeks suuuuuuuucked.

Upcoming paddles (release dates not known)

I don’t know the release dates for most of these, but I thought I would mention them in case people are on the fence about waiting for paddles. I’m guessing that most of these will be within the next 1-2 months.

  • Six Zero Ruby 14mm

  • Six Zero Black Diamond 14mm

  • Six Zero Quartz

    • This will be a very solid budget paddle

  • 11six24 Monarch

    • (A standard shape of the Hurache-X Control+)

    • They will also have a gen 1.5 model (similar to Prism Flash) and kevlar model.

    • These are end of June ish release date

  • PaddleTek ESQ-C 14.3mm and 12.7mm

    • This is a longer handle version of the ALW-C. I’m very excited to see these.

    • Should be coming in July

  • New ProXR paddles (These keep being teased from the pros)

  • Honolulu Pickleball J3K and J3K Pro

    • Standard shape kevlar models

    • End of June release

  • Bread & Butter FatBoy

    • A standard shape kevlar paddle (The shape of this one looks really fun)

🎙️ Latest podcast

If you missed it, This week we had my brother Aizec on the podcast to recap our experience at the PPA Dallas tournament. We also went over my new paddle profile chart that I’m going to try and implement into my reviews to have a visual that makes it easier to understand what I’m saying about a paddle. Check it out and let us know what you think!