Are These the Best Paddles on the Market?

What’s up, guys? This week we the American made companies are making some buzz. Despite being underwhelming for a long time, they are finally starting to make a come back with some of their latest releases. Check below to see what I’m talking about.

PaddleTek Tempest Review

I ended up really enjoying the new PaddleTek Tempest Wave v3. If you were a fan of the previous PaddleTeks, I think you’ll really enjoy the upgraded spin (up to 1800 from 1000-1100).

I wouldn’t classify the Wave v3 as a control paddle though. PaddleTeks marketing is pretty off the mark there. It’s incredibly poppy and packs quite a punch.

Even the thicker Wave v3 Pro plays more like an all court paddle than it does a control paddle.

The biggest appeal is the life time warranty, improved grit (Longevity unknown), great pop at the kitchen, and very low swing weights which makes for very fast hands.

There’s for sure a place in the market for this paddle and a specific segment is really going to like it.

If you already have a gen 2 paddle, probably no real need to check it out. However, I will say I liked it a lot and wouldn’t mind competing with it.

You can purchase one here

Engage Pro Additional Thoughts

I have more thoughts for you guys on the Engage Pros now that I’ve had multiple hitting sessions.

I think the 6.0 models might be some of the best paddles on the market.

I did not think I’d be saying that about an Engage paddle in 2023, but these things are soooooo good.

It has almost everything you could ask for. Insane spin (2000+ RPM), ridiculous power (Probably the hardest hitting non thermo paddle on the market. Keeps up with a CRBN1X IMO), fantastic feel, and a great sweet spot.

I think the only “con” I have so far is that the grip is large on the 6.0 models.

There is nothing that these don’t do as well (if not better) than the other top tier paddles on the market right now, in my opinion.

Best part is, they aren’t thermoformed, so you shouldn’t have any worry of core crushing with the power this thing has.

Even if it could core crush, it has a life time warranty and Engage seems really good about honoring it.

If you plan to pick one up before the review, you can save 20% on your order using code PBSTUDIO which brings the price to a much more reasonable $215ish.

You can buy here

Joola Perseus Alpha 2?

On the USAP approved list we recently spotted a new paddle from Joola. It’s unclear if it’s launching this year (I don’t have any yet). My hunch is that it’s a Perseus in a different shape (rounded head) but that’s a complete guess based on the picture. I’d also be shocked if they released an entirely different paddle so soon after the Perseus.

🎙️ Latest podcast

If you missed it, Will and I talk about the new Selkirk ball (it’s good), my team tournament recap, and my new Pink Six Zero DBD.